What’s Harry Potter? The Greatest Book Series Ever!

(Source: whatanerdgirlsays.com)

Please put down your pitchforks and don’t light those torches. I know that there are plenty of books out there that are probably better than Harry Potter could ever be. I don’t need a list of great authors nor do I need a dissertation of why their stories are better. I’m not basing this off of the conventional character, plot, and setting standpoint. This is more personal. You can talk to me until you’re blue in the face and you faint but you will never get me to love other books the way I love Harry Potter. Why? It’s because they all missed the window of opportunity. I bought my first Harry Potter book at the age of twelve and by my early twenties, the final movie was released.  This means that during a very important time in my life (puberty, teenage years, whatever else you want to call it) these books were there every step of the way.

It’s like how every generation complains about the next one not knowing what real entertainment is. They always view their generation’s entertainment as better than the current or past ones. That’s what I mean. Those moments are important to you because a crucial part of your growth as a person happened during those years. Yes, you will still grow and develop in your 20s, 30s, 40s, and even your 50s, but it won’t be the same. Nothing trumps the time when you knew nothing as a small child and grew to thinking that you knew everything by the time you left high school. And everything that had access to your window of opportunity will share a space in your heart and memories forever. It doesn’t matter if they were good or bad, they helped shape who you become.

(Source: dangerouscreation.com)

So not only is Harry Potter great but so are the movies, songs, and other pop culture things that made it into my window of opportunity. They’re all totally awesome. They were at the right place, at the right time, and presented themselves to the right person.  To all other authors, actors, and singers/rappers out there, don’t worry. Someday you’ll have your chance to climb through a window and become the greatest thing ever for someone too.

Comment if you agree or disagree with this. What book/movie/singer is your favorite and why?

About cozycommons

I'm an active reader and a habitual writer who loves the good, the bad, and the ugly of the literary world.

Posted on September 29, 2013, in Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Harry Potter, because I’ve invested so many years into this series unlike any other.

  2. Yes! Harry Potter is the best book series ever. It is the same for me. I found these books as an adult but they were able to help me through a really tough time.

    I love the way you said, “You can talk to me until you’re blue in the face and you faint but you will never get me to love other books the way I love Harry Potter.” This is so true for me too. Not that I don’t love other books but HP has a special place in my heart.

    Yeah Harry Potter!

    ~Aspen

    • I agree with you. I have other books that I enjoy reading but they don’t come close to being as special to me as Harry Potter. You definitely don’t have to be a child to get swept into the world of Harry Potter. That’s one of the reasons why I like the books. I still read them as an adult and have just as much fun as I did when I was younger.

      • That’s for sure. I think part of the reason they are so great is the depth of content and character(s). There are a lot of lessons and discussions that can come out of the series.

        I’d love to hear more about some things you have taken away or reflected upon from HP?

        ~Aspen

Leave a Reply

