First Impressions- Blood Magic (The Blood Journals) *Possible Spoilers*

Blood Magic

(credit: goodreads)

 

Title: Blood Magic

Author: Tessa Gratton

Original Book Description

A natural next-read for fans of Stephanie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. Instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality. Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can’t stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What’s a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there’s Nick–the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.(Source: Amazon)

The First Page:

First, I want to say that I love this author.  I haven’t read any other book from her, nor have I read the rest of this book but I already like her.  Want to know why?  This first page is awesome!  I don’t think I’ve used such a strong adjective for any of my reviews yet, but this book gets it. The first page is extremely interesting because it’s only one line.  Yes, you heard right.  It’s only one line of text.  Now you may be wondering why I would consider this awesome.  How could I like a story when I only have one line to go by?  Well, it depends on what’s written on the page and I think the author did a great job at starting her story like this.  This first page made sent me back to the good ol’ days of literature class and dissecting lines of poetry.  I actually laughed when I first read it and realized that this was the entire chapter.  After that little giggle, my analytical English major mind kicked in and I started thinking that there has to be more meaning behind this line.  I don’t think that this line is as simple as it originally seems.

The First Chapter
Plot

There’s not much I can say about the plot without ruining the surprise of the first line.  I only have one sentence to go by and as much as I want to dissect it, I don’t want my review filled with spoilers.  Oh, what the heck.  This has become a spoiler-filled post so continue on at your own discretion (You have been warned).  So let’s jump right in.  Like I said before, this sentence is more than it appears to be.  It’s basically a declaration made by a girl/young woman that she will live forever.  That already gives me clues to what I can expect from the rest of the book.  Of course the title is called Blood Magic and this woman says she will live forever, so obviously she will probably use this magic to accomplish that.  Now, the journey to her destination of immortality I do not know but at least I have an idea of where she intends to go.  Like I said, I only have one sentence to go by.

Characters

I already like this character. I also just realized that I switched the order of this review, but since I put the spoiler alert in the plot section, I refuse to rearrange things.  This is my lazy day.  Back to the story, I already like this character.  You can learn a lot about somebody just by what they choose to say and what they choose to leave out. I feel like I’ve already learned some things about her.  For instance, she’s not a little timid girl who still doesn’t know herself.  At least she doesn’t appear to be.  In this one line, she appears to be confident in herself and her future actions.  I mean she intends to live forever.  Who brazenly makes a statement like that and doesn’t mean what they say?  I don’t think this is a poker bluff.  I already know that she can back up what she’s claiming.  Another reason why she is not a timid little confused girl is because she feels she’s worthy of living forever.  Timid people may want to live forever because they’re afraid of dying, but they don’t call death out like it’s a WWE prematch show.  I also see her as brave and arrogant.  Brave because it’s going to take a lot of guts to cheat death, and arrogant because she has the audacity to think she can cheat death.  Death is a constant like life and even now there is no way to escape it.  Some people see death as a thing that come for you when it’s time and others see it as an action that takes place.  Either way, she’s just put herself on a self-made pedestal and declared herself better than the rest of all humanity because unlike us mere, pathetic mortals, she will have immortality. You got to admit, the girl’s got some guts.

Final Verdict

The First Page: 5

Characters: 5

Plot: 4

Would I continue reading it? Yes
Would I recommend it? Yes

Overall Impression: 4

Other Comments: As much as I love the character and the first page, I still didn’t see a 5 for the plot.  I’m only basing this off of the first chapter that was only a sentence long.

So has anybody else read this book? What did you think of the first page? What about the rest of the book?

About cozycommons

I'm an active reader and a habitual writer who loves the good, the bad, and the ugly of the literary world.

Posted on April 18, 2013, in First Impression and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

