The end is here…

So the end of NaNoWriMo is finally here.  Did anyone complete the challenge?  Is anyone submitting their original story?  Well, if school essays count then I definitely completed this challenge.  Unfortunately, I refuse to submit any of my essays from this semester.  Besides, compared to the fiction stories that I enjoy writing, they’re pretty dull.  Who wants to read pages and pages of rhetoric and composition papers besides other Rhet Comp students?

I will admit that I still found time to play around with different plot ideas for my NiP but my time has really been limited.  Fortunately, I’ll have more time after this semester is over because…*drum roll* I’m graduating! Yes, I’ve finally reached the end of this journey and as I get closer to the finish line I’ve been asking myself, “now what am I going to do?”  It’s the question that will send recent college grads running back into the school they’ve come to know so well and hiding in a corner while they suck their thumb and wish Neverland was real and they could be children forever.  It’s like high school graduation all over again, except now we have some sense of what’s waiting for us on the other side.  Life, responsibility, bills, bills, and did I mention bills?  Well, if you missed the other three times I said it, BILLS are awaiting us on the other side. There’s also the reality that going to college doesn’t equal a job. Degree + talent + experience sprinkled with an internship here and there definitely does.  But not just a degree unless you’re a walking, talking four-leaf clover.

Let’s face it, most first time college kids are finally understanding that there is a whole life outside of the few years they spent in a classroom.  “Now what” becomes the achilles heels of those who did not prepare for what comes after college and it becomes a speed bump for those who did.

So while I do have a basic plan for what I want to do after college, “Now what am I going to do with this English degree” has become the equivalent of a song stuck in my head and I can’t stop repeating the same lyrics over and over again.

18 Days, 432 hours, 25920 minutes, and 1555200 seconds until I’m required to answer “Now what am I going to do with this English degree” to the world.

About cozycommons

I'm an active reader and a habitual writer who loves the good, the bad, and the ugly of the literary world.

Posted on November 30, 2012, in Observation, Opinion, Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

